Breaking News
Home / National News / Parliament delegation prepared to serve Africa at the Pan African Parliament
EFF leader Julius Malema sworn in as a member of Pan African Parliament. Pic EFF

Parliament delegation prepared to serve Africa at the Pan African Parliament

Parliament’s delegation, sworn in at the Pan African Parliament (PAP) on Monday is anticipating contributing positively to the progression of the legislative sector on the continent.

The delegation, led by National Council of Provinces (NCOP) Chairperson Thandi Modise, was among 71 new Members of the PAP sworn in at the opening ceremony of the 6th Ordinary Session of the PAP in Midrand, Johannesburg.

“As the SA Parliament delegation, we are anticipating keeping increasing the value of the different boards of trustees and plenaries of the PAP so we fortify the PAP’s part in enhancing the nature of lives of the people in our continent,” said Modise.

A key issue Modise distinguished was to “keep on pushing for the PAP to have legislative powers.

The mainland’s administrative body has no law-production powers.

The topic for the Session which happens from today [Monday] until May 18, is: “Winning the Fight against Corruption: A Sustainable Path to Africa’s Transformation.”

The Session will talk about the condition of the African Union (AU), HIV/AIDS designs of activity, the Report on the AU’s Year of Combating Corruption and the provide details regarding the activity on albinism in Africa.

The PAP has 255 individuals, speaking to 55 AU Member States that have approved Article 4 (2) of the Protocol to the Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community identifying with the PAP.

This expresses each State might be represented to by five individuals, of whom no less than one ought to be a woman.

The full South African Parliament’s delegation is  Modise (National Council of Provinces Chairperson and assignment pioneer), Thoko Didiza (the National Assembly’s House Chairperson for Internal Arrangements), Julius Malema (leader of the Economic Freedom Fighters), Mandlesizwe Zwelivelile Mandela and Santosh Vinita Kalyan.

They replace  Dr. Hunadi Mateme,  Thandi Memela, Charles Nqakula and Floyd Shivambu, while Kalyan will serve an additional two-year term.

About lephalale_sb

Lephalale Online News is a news site which also publishes local and national news.

Check Also

DA files papers to set aside Fraser’s appointment

The Democratic Alliance (DA) has filed papers with the Pretoria High Court to have President …