;ANC slated for submitting names of members embroiled in state capture | Lephalale Express Online News
Breaking News
Home / National News / ANC slated for submitting names of members embroiled in state capture
ANC general secretary, Ace Magashule arrives at the IEC to submit the party list of candidates ahead of the May 8 elections. Pic facebook

ANC slated for submitting names of members embroiled in state capture

While political parties were scrambling before pre-set cut-off time on Wednesday to submit names of their preferred parliamentary candidates to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), the ANC is being slated for including the names of those embroiled in State Capture.

Outraged callers told Power FM on Wednesday morning it is scandalous for the ANC to include Malusi Gigaba, Bathabile Dlamini, Msebenzi Zwane, Nomvula Mokonyane, and Thabang Makwetla, saying they were fingered in corrupt activities.

ANC General Secretary Ace Magashule said if they are not found guilty by a court of law they are on the list.

Acting spokesperson Dakota Legoete said ANC branches nominated the names, and they accepted them to be part of the ruling party’s candidate list of MPs ahead of the national elections on Wednesday, May 8.

IEC Spokesperson Kate Bapela said the Commission gave parties wishing to contest national and provincial elections until 5 pm on Wednesday to submit their lists.

Bapela said the lists contain only 400 candidates for the national election and only the total number of representatives for each provincial legislature.

Bapela said once the deadline has passed, the Electoral Commission will give parties until March 19 to recommend them of any non-compliance about the candidates.

She added that they must rectify lists by March 25.

She said the Commission will only allow registered political parties which have paid their deposits and submitted the list to contest the elections.

“Commission requires parties contesting both national and provincial elections to pay a deposit of R200 000 for the national ballot and R45 000 for each provincial ballot,” said Bapela.

She said they refund the deposit in full to parties which win at least one seat in each legislature they contest.

“Parties which do not secure a seat forfeit their deposit to the National Revenue Fund,” added Bapela.

Election timetable also provides an opportunity for the Electoral Commission to notify parties of any candidates appearing on lists of other parties by 26 March.

Affected parties have until March 28 to submit substitutes for these candidates.

The Commission will publish the final list of candidates on March 29.

About lephalale_sb

Lephalale Online News is a news site which also publishes local and national news.
HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com