New look list of the youngest, oldest SA MPs and MPLs submitted 

As the final step of 2019 Nation­al and Provin­cial Elec­tions, the Chair­per­son of the Elec­toral Com­mis­sion, Glen Mashini­ni has hand­ed over a list of 830 elect­ed rep­re­sen­ta­tives to the Chief Jus­tice, Mogo­eng Mogo­eng.

The list of 400 elect­ed Mem­bers of Par­lia­ment (MPs) and 430 elect­ed Mem­bers of Provin­cial Leg­is­la­tures (MPLs) was drawn from the nation­al, region­al and provin­cial can­di­date.

The 23-year-old Sibongiseni Ngcobo is the youngest politi­cian that will be sworn in to rep­re­sent Demo­c­ra­t­ic Alliance (DA) as an MP in the Nation­al Assem­bly.

Anoth­er young­ster, also a DA mem­ber, Karabo Khakhau (21) will be sworn in as an MPL in the Free State Leg­is­la­ture.

Their names appear among the long stand­ing, old­est MPs includ­ing the 90-year-old Inkha­ta Free­dom Par­ty leader Dr Man­gosothu Buthelezi.

Mashini­ni said the aver­age age of our MPs is 50 years old – the same as the aver­age age in 2014.

Youngest and old­est rep­re­sen­ta­tives

List    Region                        Max Age             Min Age

Nation­al       Nation­al                 90                     23

Provin­cial    East­ern Cape          71                     29

Provin­cial    Free State               73                     21

Provin­cial    Gaut­eng                  66                    25

Provin­cial    KwaZu­lu-Natal      71                     27

Provin­cial    Limpopo                77                     27

Provin­cial    Mpumalan­ga          76                     30

Provin­cial    North West           70                      29

Provin­cial    North­ern Cape       64                     33

Provin­cial    West­ern Cape         75                     28

The lists was sub­mit­ted by con­test­ing polit­i­cal par­ties as part of the elec­tion timetable in March 2019.

Item 16 of Sched­ule 1A of the Elec­toral Act (Act 73 of 1998) requires that “after the count­ing of votes has been con­clud­ed, the num­ber of rep­re­sen­ta­tives of each par­ty has been deter­mined and the elec­tion results have been declared in terms of sec­tion 190 of the Con­sti­tu­tion.

The Com­mis­sion must, with­in two days after such dec­la­ra­tion, des­ig­nate from each list of can­di­dates the rep­re­sen­ta­tives of each par­ty in the leg­is­la­ture.”

Accord­ing to the Con­sti­tu­tion, these rep­re­sen­ta­tives must be sworn into office by tak­ing an oath or affir­ma­tion before the Chief Jus­tice.

The first sit­ting of Par­lia­ment must take place at a date and time deter­mined by the Chief Jus­tice but not more than 14 days after the announce­ment of the results of an elec­tion.

Demo­graph­ic sta­tis­tics for the rep­re­sen­ta­tives show an improve­ment in gen­der rep­re­sen­tiv­i­ty from 2014 elec­tions.

Of the 400 MPs, 45.25 per­cent are women com­pared to 42 per­cent in 2014.

The provin­cial leg­is­la­ture with the best gen­der rep­re­sen­tiv­i­ty is Mpumalan­ga where half of the Mem­bers will be women.

The provin­cial leg­is­la­ture with the low­est gen­der rep­re­sen­tiv­i­ty is the West­ern Cape where just 35.71 per­cent of rep­re­sen­ta­tives are women.

Table 1: Gen­der Rep­re­sen­tiv­i­ty

List              Region                   Female %            Male %

Nation­al       Nation­al                   45.25                 54.75

Provin­cial    East­ern Cape            46.03                 53.97

Provin­cial    Free State                 46.67                  53.33

Provin­cial    Gaut­eng                   42.47                  57.53

Provin­cial    KwaZu­lu-Natal         42.50                 57.50

Provin­cial    Limpopo                   48.98                 51.02

Provin­cial    Mpumalan­ga             50.00                 50.00

Provin­cial    North West               45.45                 54.55

Provin­cial    North­ern Cape          40.00                 60.00

Provin­cial    West­ern Cape            35.71                 64.29

Fol­low us on Social Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HTML Snippets Powered By :
et, eleifend risus pulvinar Phasellus luctus dolor mi, sit