Press "Enter" to skip to content

President-elect: Incoming Cabinet to bring change

On May 9,  1994, the late strug­gle stal­wart Alberti­na Sisu­lu rose from her seat in the first demo­c­ra­t­ic sit­ting of Par­lia­ment to nom­i­nate for­mer states­man Nel­son Man­dela as Pres­i­dent in what has since become a his­toric visu­al in the minds of most South Africans.

That was 25 years ago. On Tues­day, ANC’s incom­ing Chief Whip Pem­my Majo­d­i­na rose to nom­i­nate Cyril Ramaphosa for the posi­tion of Pres­i­dent.

Address­ing the house as a Pres­i­dent-elect, he said the basis of his gov­ern­ment and that of the incom­ing Cab­i­net will be that of col­lab­o­ra­tion, find­ing con­sen­sus and bring­ing about change.

He said despite com­ing from dif­fer­ent polit­i­cal par­ties, all MPs have a com­mon man­date to build a nation found­ed on the prin­ci­ples of social jus­tice, sol­i­dar­i­ty and equal­i­ty.

“All of us must see our­selves as hold­ing the hopes and aspi­ra­tions of our peo­ple…” he said.

“As for me, I com­mit myself to work day and night, to work very hard for the inter­ests of our peo­ple,” he said.

The Pres­i­dent-elect said this after Chief Jus­tice Mogo­eng Mogo­eng con­firmed his elec­tion unop­posed.

“The nom­i­na­tion is in order and in terms of item five … of the Con­sti­tu­tion, I declare Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa duly elect­ed the Pres­i­dent of the Repub­lic of South Africa.

“I cease this oppor­tu­ni­ty to con­grat­u­late you on Mr Pres­i­dent on your elec­tion…,” the Chief Jus­tice said.

The President’s elec­tion came short­ly after for­mer Nation­al Coun­cil of Provinces Chair­per­son Than­di Modise was elect­ed as the Speak­er of the Nation­al Assem­bly after a vote.

The Chief Jus­tice declared Modise as a Speak­er after she received 250 votes against the DA’s Them­bek­ile Richard Majo­la, who received 83 votes. Some 17 bal­lots were spoilt.

Lech­esa Tseno­li, MP, who was a Deputy Speak­er in the 5th Par­lia­ment, retained his posi­tion after he was nom­i­nat­ed unop­posed.

Mes­sages of con­grat­u­la­tions

Short­ly after the President’s elec­tion, oppo­si­tion lead­ers took turns to con­grat­u­late the Pres­i­dent, the Speak­er and the Deputy Speak­er.

DA leader Mmusi Maimane wished the Pres­i­dent great suc­cess.

“Last­ly I would like to say, Mr Pres­i­dent, that may this be a sea­son of greater col­lab­o­ra­tion,” he said, adding that while they may have stood on oppo­site ends in the cham­ber, they are both patri­ots and ded­i­cat­ed to serv­ing the inter­ests of the peo­ple of South Africa.

EFF leader Julius Male­ma also con­grat­u­lat­ed the Pres­i­dent, say­ing that when he sees him, he sees Win­nie Man­dela in action as he was among those who stood behind her when it was not pop­u­lar to do so.

The leader of the GOOD Par­ty, Patri­cia De Lille, said 25 years ago, the Pres­i­dent, a “young man” at the time, he led MPs in draft­ing the Con­sti­tu­tion and that he is now back.

She said that she hoped to see a gov­ern­ment of integri­ty that will deliv­er bet­ter ser­vices. 

She said she would like to offer the sup­port and love of GOOD, but added that the love will not be uncon­di­tion­al as her par­ty will hold him account­able.

Swear­ing-in cer­e­mo­ny

Ear­li­er in the day, the Chief Jus­tice presided over the swear­ing-in of Mem­bers of Par­lia­ment in what was a marathon ses­sion.

Male­ma led fel­low EFF MPs in a vosho ahead of tak­ing their oaths or affir­ma­tion as mem­bers of the Nation­al Assem­bly.

MPs were called out in groups of 10 and among them, DA leader Mmusi Maimane, long-serv­ing IFP leader Man­go­suthu Buthelezi and the leader of the GOOD par­ty Patri­cia De Lille were called in at dif­fer­ent inter­vals to be sworn-in.

Ahead of the sit­ting, ANC released a state­ment announc­ing that Deputy Pres­i­dent David Mabuza had decid­ed to post­pone his swear­ing-in to address mat­ters raised by the party’s Integri­ty Com­mis­sion.

The ANC also announced that due to “fam­i­ly respon­si­bil­i­ties and her being in mourn­ing”, for­mer Min­is­ter Nomvu­la Mokonyane has informed the par­ty that her deploy­ment to Par­lia­ment be recon­sid­ered as she would be unable to dili­gent­ly and with com­mit­ment, ful­fil her duties at this stage.

Oth­er MP nom­i­nees who have with­drawn their names for var­i­ous rea­sons include for­mer Home Affairs Min­is­ter Malusi Giba­ba and for­mer Speak­er Bale­ka Mbete. –

Fol­low us on Social Media

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

fringilla Aliquam lectus ut venenatis, dictum neque. accumsan sem, commodo libero © 2019 Lephalale Express Online News. All Rights Reserved.